Many governments are investing less in roads and more in public transport systems. Do the advantage outweigh the disadvantage?

One of the most controversial issues today related to allocation of more money in public transports and less cash on roads by the government. In my opinion, the advantages of this tendency outweighs the drawbacks, because despite improving of roads can be more useful for country’s economy, it is more favorable for environment, this kind of investing prevents spread of natural problems such as air pollution. Those that mainly agree with this benefit point out of the fact that development of municipal transportation is more eco-friendly than improvement of highways by the putting up money of government. Particularly lack of roads would lead to less number of cars, which produce the significant part of air particles and harmful gases in the atmosphere such as CO, in comparison with public transports like subways, which use an electricity to move and do not increase the level of damaging gases in the atmosphere. A particularly good example here is case, when the government of Singapore decided to tackle problem of air pollution, to achieve their goal, the government refused from investing of cash in ways and started to develop system of public transportation. After few months level of pollutants in the atmosphere steadily dropped by just over a tenth. Consequently, the main advantage of this trend is helpful for solving some environmental issues. One major disadvantage is possible deterioration of republic’s economy. The main reason for believing this is that good roads guarantees the majority of people, who want to buy and use cars, subsequently the more cars are in town, the more petrol are required and sold. Usage of municipal transports cannot effect positively on economic system of country, because electricity does not cost much and price of ticket is not high to get economical profit. For instance, it is a wide-known fact that Germany’s national economy is based on car industry, there is no impact of public transportation, because of this, the government of Germany provides approximately 1 million euros for improving roads to cause more using of cars, and the government spends only 100000 euros for buying public transports. Therefore, developed countries pay attention to improvement of roads to get income in the future, because municipals transports cannot do more good, so this tendency can lead to degradation of economy. To sum up, despite less putting up money in roads can lead to lost of profit and negative effect on economy of country, I believe that investing cash in system of public transportation has more significant benefit like environmental friendliness.