Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

For years economic progress has been the sole focus of a lot of countries. While several governments think that this should continue to be the case, concomitantly there are people who believe different types of progress are as important. This essay shall review both these opinions and show why in my opinion a country’s economic progress is its most crucial task. A great number of governments view economic growth as the ultimate goal, a lot of people including myself share this opinion. However important other types of progress are, none are possible without a strong economy, this is essential for the correct functioning of a country and its people. For example, when a global medical emergency occurred the richer countries had enough funds to pay for healthcare and invest in vaccines, thus influencing directly the wellbeing of their populations which would be otherwise impossible. This is why I believe that economic progress has a direct impact on every aspect of a country’s development and so must be the main goal. Despite the opinion stated above, I can understand why there are various people that believe other types of progress to be equally essential. Whereas economic process should always be a positive outcome, there have been situations in which individuals have been periodically abandoned by their country in the name of progress. Illustrated ideally by the American healthcare system, which while being the most advanced in the world fails to help its most vulnerable citizens. Contrary to most situations economic progress has no led to an increase in health of the country, because of this it is not incorrect that sometimes economic progress has its negative sides. In conclusion, while it may have some issues I firmly believe that economic progress should be the most important goal of the government as it will ultimately help the country more than other types of progress would.