In some cultures old age is more valued, while in other cultures youth is more valued.

People have different views about the significance of old people and young people. While some people disagree with the idea of giving the older generation a high priority, I believe that seniors should be the main focus of attention compared to the youth. There are two key reasons why the younger generation should be considered to be of a valued member of society. Firstly, young people can work longer hours with sufficient productivity. That is because young individuals possess a high metabolic rate so as to get their tasks done both efficiently and well. Thus, these hard jobs might not affect their work-life balance. Secondly, many young people take an active part in volunteer projects and this can be beneficial for both the individuals and society as a whole. For instance, those who work in the medical profession can participate actively in preventing the spread of disease in a particular area. Nevertheless, it seems to me that it is vital to attach great importance to the senior citizens of the country. The main reason for this view is that older people act as role models for youth as they are a huge source of experience. For example, many grandparents might be in a position of responsibility for taking care of their grandchildren since the parents of children do not have sufficient time to care for their children. Furthermore, cultural values have been handed down for hundreds of years via the older population of the nation. More importantly, they convey the cultural norms that help to maintain the fabric of society. In conclusion, although there is ample evidence to consider young people to be important residents of the country, I contend that the elderly have profound insights in terms of family and culture that ought to be valued.