Many foods are shipped from far away. Some people think that eating local food is more environmentally and economically. Do you think the advantages outweigh its disadvantages.

It is true that advancement in technology has a colossal effect on the manufacturing as well as the transportation of goods. Some people argue that local food is better than imported items from distant places. However, this essay examines the merits and demerits of local food. To begin with the benefits of local production of food is inevitable. Firstly, the quality of food item is vital to develop a healthy society free from diseases and illness. The cultivation of vegetables and other items in the surrounding areas benefit to the family as well as the entire society, as it is free from chemicals and fertilizers. Moreover, the consumption of good quality items enriches the human health as well. For instance, in order to keep the freshness of the imported goods, chemicals and preservatives are added in a large quantity, which subsequently lead to serious health issues like cancer. Secondly, the local production in the country area increases the availability of food products with cheap rate and thus poor people can afford it. On the other hand, importing food items from far places is significant to maintain the economic balance. In fact, the vegetation of crops relies largely on the weather conditions and rainfall, thus it is impossible to produce all varieties of crops in a single area. For example, as Kerala is rich in rainfall as it is famous for the cultivation of rice and other pulses, but the area is not suitable to grow tomato and potato, thus they rely on the vegetables imported from other places. In conclusion, the upsides of local food outweighs downsides in terms of better quality and the availability. However, food from other places is significant to meet the sufficiency of variety items.