Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

The emergence of nursing homes have changed the lives of the elderly. While old age homes offer full-time medical attention and a comfortable social life for the elderly, I would argue that they can be detrimental to the mental health and well-being of the aged. On the one hand, nursery homes offer numerous benefits to the elderly. Firstly, they provide round the clock medical attention. Doctors and nurses are available 24/7 in case of any medical emergencies. Secondly, nursing homes tend to be quite secure. If one's parents have Dementia or any other neurological diseases, they tend to wander, and in this situation the security offered by old age homes end up being very useful. Finally, the aged can have a proper social life in nursing homes. Surrounded by peers of the same age group, some peers find it nice and refreshing. On the other hand, although there are several benefits offered by nursing homes, there are also some downsides that come along with them. Firstly, homes can be an expensive endeavor, especially the high-quality ones. It can be financially crippling for even rich families. In 2020 the average cost of a private room was around 8000 dollars, amounting to almost 96000 dollars per year. Secondly, nursing homes do not give the elderly any independence. Fixed schedules and time-tables can be a stressful experience for the aged. Furthermore, there have also been some nightmarish stories over the years about abuse and neglect in certain institutions. In conclusion, while nursing homes offer constant attention with respect to health, well-being, security and socialization, they can often be quite expensive and can create an inferiority complex amongst the elderly.