Many educational institutions give greater importance to subjects related to science and ignore subjects such as drama and literature. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

A notable number of educational organizations have preference for offering science subjects instead of subjects such as drama and literature. In this essay I will provide reasons why this has happened and elaborate on negative aspects of this phenomenon. One major factor is an increasing need in science related jobs in societies. The advancement in science and technology make countries in need of more science experts. Countries prosperity in different areas such as economic growth and new inventions are largely rely on well-educated workforces who are highly beneficial for countries developments. Increasing the number of students who study science subjects can ensure governments that knowledge and skill gaps in various areas are covered. Another point worth mentioning is that since most science careers are well paid and in high demand, loads of students are willing to land these jobs after graduation. Studying science rather than arts and literature is a negative development in terms of neglecting some people's interests and needs. Students have different talents and abilities. There are students galore who are enthusiastic about arts and literature. Ignoring these subjects can largely result is disappointed students who are not satisfied with their life and career. On top of this, these kind of subject have positive effects on society and culture. Art and literature make life more enjoyable and fulfilling. Fewer painters, authors and poets make societies culturally poorer. In conclusion, it seems to me although there are sound reasons behind providing student with science subjects, other subjects such as art, literature, history, and drama should also take into consideration.