It is true that most of the schools and universities programmes are not considering art courses such as drama and literature as critical as programmes which are related to science and mathematics.

It is true that most of the schools and universities programmes are not considering art courses such as drama and literature as critical as programmes which are related to science and mathematics. While there are numerous benefits to this trend, there are also some drawbacks and I believe that the positive points outweigh the negative points. There are numerous legitimate reasons for the fact that why tertiary education system does not pay attention to subjects which are derived from art. Firstly, it is believed that majority of students are capable of gaining knowledge in regard to literature and drama by their own effort without any tremendous difficulty, so educational institutions prefers to set curriculum which is mainly emphasising on more difficult subjects. Moreover, principals are convinced by the needs of the nations that teaching art is useless and they find it not practical for either pupils and communities. For instance, in an industrial country, engineering programmes which requires high-level of math skill are more appealing, therefore, there is no need for setting art subjects in a timetable of academic programmes. But, this on the other hand, has brought some disadvantages and advantages. Arts derived courses likewise, literature, drama and music are essential for students who are even studying in scientific courses. It is necessary for them because of the fact if they are exhausted and bored with difficult subjects like math and science, they would take a rest. Furthermore, drama and literature indicate the pure culture and long history of a nation thus it is beneficial for individuals to learn them and enrich their nationality. However, there are some drawbacks in this regard. For example, imagine a society that art lessons are not being taught. In that condition, people would be careless about the emotions and in some way they will be cold blooded. So, this would have an adverse impact on people’s mental health. In conclusion, it is obvious that there are many factors playing a role in order to lessen the importance of art courses in the timetable of educational institutes; however, I firmly believe that this is a useful method in regard to having knowledgeable people in our nation.