Many People Believe that Social Media sites have had a negative impact on society, share your views

i don't agree Through social media networks, they can create new friendships, express their views and opinions, and even create 'new identities'. Social media also exposes students to a whole new way of learning. Research has shown that students who are frequent users of social media are more innovative and exhibit better memory. Social media is rapidly changing the communication setting of today’s social world. The emergent of social media is significantly influencing the academic life of students. Institutions and academician are continually trying with social media technologies hoping to excite critical thinking skills, collaboration, and knowledge construction. Today social media has been accepted by higher institution making it a platform where students connect with their instructors, fellow students and other higher authorities across the board. This therefore called for the study to explore and examine how social media has impacted on students’ academic life. The study implored a qualitative approach in assessing these impacts. Ten (10) participants were conveniently sampled and interviewed with a period of two weeks. After studying the phenomena that were of interest to the study, and transcribing the various responses of the participants the results reveals that social media is widely used by students of higher institution and that participant are in support of the idea that social media contribute a significant quota to the development of their academic life. Today’s world is a global village. Everyone is connected to one another in this vast network generated by the Internet. As said by Marshall McLuhan, a philosopher of communication theory, “The new electronic independence re-creates the world in the image of a global village. ” This electronic independence is inherently dependent upon the Internet. It illuminates the lives of thousands of people by spreading knowledge internationally, thereby making us global citizens. In the past, the communicating and free sharing of thoughts among people were restricted by long distance, nationality and/or religion. But now, even these barriers cannot stop the flow of information and knowledge. The new world of social networking allows free sharing of thoughts. Online social networks are created by websites such as Facebook, which has emerged as a giant in this social world. So how do these networks affect our education? How do they influence the lives of students? Humans are social animals. We always like to remain in some group or another, and we prefer to follow what this group does. All of our traditions and cultures are the product of this group-oriented facet of human nature. A well-known American psychologist, Abraham Maslow, stated in his “Theory of Motivation” that the social need of human beings is the third most important requirement after our physical and safety needs — the third tier in his hierarchy of needs. Even our self-esteem comes after this social dependence. This is the main reason billions of people use social networking to stay connected, make friends and satisfy their social needs. As of 2015 the world’s largest social networking company, Facebook, has 1. 49 billion active users, and the number of users is increasing every year. One of the most interesting things to look at is the increasing number of student users on such social networking sites. As per the survey conducted by Pew Research Center, 72 percent of high school and 78 percent of college students spend time on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, etc. These numbers indicate how much the student community is involved in this virtual world of social networking. Actually, many reasons exist that explain why students love to spend time socializing. Firstly, social networks provide them the freedom to do whatever they want — to upload what they want and talk to whom they want. They like to make new friends and comment on the lives of different people. Students can create other online identities that the real world does not allow. The freedom it gives them to act just by sitting in front of a computer enthralls them, and they then demand for more freedom. Never before has it been so easy for young minds to create a digital image of their actions through such a spontaneous medium.