Although modern life has brought with it improvements in people's standard of living, people are not generally happy with their lives. Do you agree or disagree ?

Despite the fact that life standards are much higher now comparing to the past, individuals tend to be less and less satisfied with their lives. In my view, that is unfortunately true as long as people are living in houses with water and electricity, riding cars, receiving brand-new clothes and smartphones, but yes considering their life as miserable. Firstly, society has forgot how basic resources such as water or electricity are essential for living. Consequently, people started to underestimate these welfare benefits. To illustrate, majority of Ukrainian population is always complaining about big utility fees, while not trying to be pleasured that they can use a bath with hot water. All these ideas literally show that humanity takes some valuable things for granted. Moving on to the second point, it is important to highlight people’s love to material assets, such as expensive clothing or innovative computers. At the same time, individuals ignore spiritual values, such as love from friends and parents, or satisfaction from doing your favourite activity. For example, someone can choose a job with big salary which will not provide that person a sense of fulfilment. That was another group of ideas which might help to clarify my opinion. To sum up, there are negative trends in society, including a preference of material values rather than spiritual ones. As I stated before, I fully agree with the given statement and think that this situation must be changed, by appreciating basic life benefits and paying attention to spiritual fulfilment.