Many developing countries are currently expanding their tourist industries. Why is this the case? Is it a positive development?

Nowadays the businesses based on tourism are emerging extensively in several third world nations. This tendency resulted from several causes. Despite some a few benefits it may bring, tourism industry can have negative impacts on these nations On the one hand, there is a variety of reasons for the advancement of this smokeless industry. First and foremost, it accompanies with great economic values. It seems to be shreds of evidence that tourism is the general growth trend in many prosper nations throughout the globe. Macao, which tourism makes up to 29. 3 percent of GDP, is a good case in point. Secondly, travel businesses created numerous newly arrived careers. The locals can take advantage of their culturally unique articles lucratively as merchandising souvenirs and other related services. Moreover, along with the breakneck development of hotels and other business premises, there are several tourism-based occupations. Travel agency, tour guide or receptionist, to name but a few. Last but not least, this industry is eco-friendly. People are reportedly more environmentally conscious and hence they irreversibly move toward cleaner industry Nevertheless, tourism businesses may have some negative effects on developing countries. First of all, it causes deculturation or culture loss. By way of illustration, traditional festivals and customs may be commercialized and lost its own integrity and identity. Secondly, tourism is responsible for environmental degradation. It is irrefutable that not every traveler has self-consciousness. This is shown by lots of forest fires is due to the irresponsibility of tourists. They may also damage various historical monuments and landmarks. Finally, tourism may go along with the raising of crime rates. Crowded areas give the potential offender a perfect opportunity to commit a crime such as pickpocketing or even terrorism To sum up, the emerge of tourism is caused by high economic values, forming new occupations and eco-friendly. But it may also result in cultural loss, environmental degradation and increasing crime rates