Many crimes are often related to the consumption of alcohol some people think that the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solution can you suggest?

It is true that the consumption of alcohol affects the decision making power of the brain. Pertaining to the number of crimes committed under the influence of booze, leads many people to think that a ban on it will improve the social situation. I do not agree with this view. To start with, liquor ban might reduce the crime rate for some time because the bad actions performed under its influence will decrease, but I believe this is not an effective solution. If a person is addicted, then he/she will try to get it at any cost without any consideration of the ban. For example, selling and purchase of drugs are banned is most of the countries, but people do have access to them because they are sold illegally. Instead of a decrease in crime rate, it might result in an increase because of trafficking and illegal selling and purchase. To control the crime rate, efforts are needed from the government and parents. Firstly, parents need to ensure that they guide their children through the harms of booze on the health and the society. Additionally, they should teach their children, when they reach adulthood, about the importance of having hard drinks responsibly, if they want to drink. From the government institutions, more and more awareness should be created about the ill-effects of liquor. The administration should establish rehabilitation and support centres. This step will help the people who want to quit drinking. Such centres provide support to an individual. For instance, in such centres he/she can meet other similar people and they can inspire each other for quitting. To conclude, the excessive consumption of alcohol makes people forget the difference between the right and wrong, which indeed increases lawlessness. However, I think that banning alcohol is not an effective solution, on the other hand, several other measures such as spreading awareness about its ill-effects among the present and future generation could be proven to be more impactful.