Many couples live together as “partners” without officially getting married. What are the reasons for this trend? Do you think it is positive or negative?

Over the last few decades, the traditional marriage customs have been eroded, as evidenced by the cohabitation without having an official marriage of couples. This essay will consider why this is the case and the risks this trend contains. The nature of this prevalent predicament can be explained by the fear of divorce and the realistic opinion about married lives. The increasing rate in the number of divorces drives people to cohabitate as a way to test the relationship before getting married. For instance, there are so many high-profile figures opting for living together instead of tying the knot including Kylie Jenner and Travis Scott. Due to the current materialistic lives, moreover, people seem to focus more on possessing a house and other needs, which means they value their future lives over the current married rituals and customs that can cost them too much. There are countless reasons why I am of the opinion that this is a negative trend. Firstly, this phenomenon contributes to a concern for the possibility of couples’ collapse. Without their marriage, they might easily make the decision of ending up a relationship, because there are no strings attached to them. In addition, the conventional values of marriages are likely to be underestimated because of the lack of wedding celebrations. This may engender less awareness of the meaning of getting married and also result in a monotonous society. To recapitulate, it appears that most young people emphasize on improving a better life in the future and neglect the complicated procedures of a marriage. This increased interest in cohabitation over marriage, in my opinion, causes more harm than good. The pertinent question is whether the wedding among couples might exist or not if this trend still develops.