many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Crime related novels and TV dramas are definitely gaining more popularity because they depict a n unseen part of own world which exposes and confronts many of our own fears. This genre targets at bringing out the harsh realities of life, which in our country are mostly hidden. The novels and shows enlighten us of the various illegal activities that happen all around us, unknown to common man. Its popularity could be because of a lot of reasons. One of them being the portrayal of our force as life saviours and heroes in uniform. A common man feels safe and protected after watching crime being tacked by the officers, who in real life are mostly not on time. But seeing or reading of positive outcomes builds their trust while creating awareness of various common harms. Some TV shows like ‘Hoshiyaar’, had a great concept where they showed how crime could be stopped if necessary steps and precautions are taken at the right time. This show created a lot of buzz as it involved everyday situations, but it definitely helped people in staying alert and noticing irregular activities around them. In my opinion crime fiction and TV crime dramas are good if viewed in moderation. It can get pretty addictive and in turn make a person delusional. There have been a few incidents where people suspected innocent maids or family members influenced by the TC shows. This created a lot of misunderstanding and rifts too. On the other hand such shows need to be age limited and monitored as it can have a harsh effect on kids. Hence its best to avoid them when kids are around too. I would like to conclude by saying that in todays world where happy endings are more, people find solace and security through these books and shows despite knowing its just fiction, this increase its popularity.