In western countries many people spend lots of money on their pets. They buy special food for their cats and dogs; but them toys and often pay high fees for their medical treatment. Some people think, this is a waste of money and argue that pets are dirty and dangerous. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having a pet? Do people spend too much money on pets?

Since a long time pets have become an important part of family in western countries. Likewise, the human member of the family, pets require special food, toys, and regular medical treatment and so on. As a result, some people believe that having pets is not the best way to spend money and sometimes they can be dangerous. To commence with, despite the fact that pets are expensive, people like to do have them because of many reasons. First of all, children can learn about caring and loving the animals. They can develop emotions and respect for animals, which is a vital aspect to be learned when kids are growing up. Secondly, for people who are living alone, pets become their only friend. Pets give a feeling of togetherness specially for such people. Thirdly, we can get protection from pets. For example, in situations such as robbery and stealing, having a pet can benefit us to become more alert about the sitation. On the other side, the major disadvantage is expenses. Money has to be spend after vaccination, and medical treatment. Moreover, special food is quite expensive for pets such as dogs and cats. Some people can be allergetic to pets and this reason also supports arguments of the people who don’t like pets. Also, daily chores increase after taking care of pets. Not to mention that in some cases, pets can be dangerous. For instance, Bull dogs are notorious for brutal attacks on owners and other people. In conclusion, there are pros and cons of having pets. As what is discussed earlier, pets need too much attention and spending. Personally, I believe that pets can put financial burden on people. I agree with the notion that people spend too much money on pets.