Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a 'fat ta' is unfair and unnecessary.

Consuming unhealthy foods has a huge negative impact on one's health, as well as in society. While some feel that higher taxation is necessary, others, argue that 'fat tax' is no longer needed. In this essay, I will discuss both views and why I feel that each individual is responsible for their own health, and not related to the price of the food. The main reason why some people believe that the authorities should impose more tax to 'fat tax' is to discourage consumers to purchase unhealthy food. Frequent eating of this food will lead to serious health problems, such as obesity, and cardiac diseases. This is why are in favor of the high pricing of junky foods. On the other hand, the reason why other individuals think it is not fair and no longer needed is that people want to practice their autonomy. People think increasing the price of society's choice of food is restricting their freedom. For instance, people in Amsterdam are protesting in the street with regard to the dramatic rise of prices in chocolates and sugar-filled carbonated drinks. Therefore, the community's decision on what to consume on what is beneficial to their health. Poor diet has serious health consequences. This essay discussed why certain people think it is better to increase the price of unhealthy food, but why others think it is useless. In my view, people should be aware of the health issues related to poor diet and increasing the price is not the answer for a healthier society.