Many countries in the world find that their cities are overcrowded and need to expand. Is the solution to this to build in existing cities, or build new developments outside?

It is true that an increase in world’s population means that more people need places to live and therefore more houses need to be constructed. Although there are some benefits of building houses in cities, I believe it would be more advantageous if new cities are established. On the one hand, building houses in cities is better because the material needed for construction is readily available as there are many construction cites and stores in these areas. Furthermore, more and more people are migrating to cities as there are more employment opportunities. However, to make more space for building houses many trees are cut down as well as parks are cleared to make places for buildings and due to this problems the cost of living is high in cities and as a result, there is more traffic on roads which leads to pollution and congestion on roads. On the other hand, constructing new developments has some drawbacks. Firstly, there is limited public transport available in these areas. Secondly, it is hard to get a good job for people living in rural areas. However, these issues can be solved by having their own vehicle so that they can travel to and from to city. Despite these disadvantages there are many advantages of establishing new towns in rural areas; houses in these areas can be affordable for most people because there is less competition, more free land is available and it is not polluted or overcrowded; therefore people living here will have better health conditions. Moreover, more industries can be built due to the availability of free space, and these companies will be able to provide jobs for local people. In conclusion, both ideas have some advantages and disadvantages. However, after looking into detail of both arguments it is clear that establishing new towns in rural areas is more beneficial.