Many companies sponsor sports as a way to advertising themselves. Some people think that it is a good thing, while others think that it has disadvantages.

Nowadays, firms have been allotted a generous budget to various sports so as to channel their products or services to customers’ needs. Research findings confirm that this marketing method is significantly more practical in prospering businesses compared with other methods, including celebrity endorsements, pop-ups, jingles and so forth. Being sponsorship of sports has been the subject of debate in recent years and people’s opinions run the gamut from being proponents of being opponents. I am of the opinion that companies should play a part as a patron in sports. On the one hand, some people justifiably argue that there are advantages to sponsoring sports. From their point of view, allocating the budget to sports can act as a catalyst for promoting sports. It helps sports play a role as a sponge and, in turn, absorbs athletically gifted people from all walks of life; therefore, people having a knock for doing a particular sport can find a background to strut their stuff. For instance, once a private bank appropriated a considerable amount of money for the Iran national volleyball team, their performance has become excellent. Now, they are the front-runner in Asia and place among the best national teams in the world. It is also maintained that sports have their own avid followers. Every sport event has an array of spectators. Indeed, they are broadcast by millions of TV channels, so companies are in the public eye. This opens a window of opportunity for companies to sell their products. For example, in 2010 world cup in South Africa, owing to supporting football teams, international companies witnessed a considerable increase in selling their goods in the continent of Africa. On the other hand, there are those who subscribe to the view that sponsoring sports has some disadvantages. They argue that companies merely support sports having devoted fans, for instance football, and therefore other sports are completely ignored. In their vantage, supporting football clubs overrides the importance of sponsoring other sports such as judo. However, companies can be compelled to support other sports by the success of athletes of them in worldwide competitions. In my personal opinion, albeit sponsoring sports might have some disadvantages, the merits are far more prominent. Promoting sports and prospering their own businesses are the main merits that subscribe my viewpoint.