Many companies sponsor sports as a way of advertising themselves. Some people think that it is a good thing, while others think that it has disadvantages.

Certain companies advertise themselves by sponsoring sports. Few people believe it is good, while others assume there are disadvantages to this. However, I believe that positives outweigh the negatives. To begin with, Sports are widely followed by numerous people. Companies sponsoring them may really improve their reputation all the world. For example, Gatorade's sales accelerate when they are sponsored in the American football teams and events. Moreover, Sports team gain money from these sponsors, as a result sport teams may use the money to improve their facilities as well as provide more coaching. Moreover, having sponsorships motivate athletes to focus more in their training and production of their sports. In fact, it is reported that some athletes compete quite better when they get sponsored by some companies. Companies tend to focus more in sponsoring sports because they find sports most reliable way to advertise themselves nowadays. On the other side, Sponsoring sports have multiple negatives. Firstly, sport's reputation decreases gradually when several companies sponsor sports; they make people think that sports are used for business only. Interest on sports in people will decrease when they see companies sponsoring them. Companies pay billions of dollars to sponsor sports, which is quite expensive. Besides, governing sports will rely on sponsoring only and will not focus on their achievements. To sum up, in my view, sponsoring sports are generally considered cost beneficial as companies can introduce their business to the number of viewers. However, sponsoring must be done to some extent and sports should accept certain type of companies which the sports would benefit them too.