Many cities have vehicle-free day, which encourages citizens to take bus, cycle or take taxi to go out. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

As the growing numbers of private cars held, associated problems, such as more crowded roads and worse air quality, desperately need more attention. Many cities around the world start to take measures to tackle these problems, vehicle-free days as one of them. While I definitely think that having control on the days that allow driving has more advantages than disadvantages, I believe governments should also take into consideration of the potential drawbacks. On the one hand, implementing bans on vehicles can bring various benefits. First of all, regulations such as vehicle-free assist in controlling the overcrowded streets, which improves the efficiency as well as the quality of roadways. Secondly, encouraging citizens to take public transportations or cycle is more environmentally-friendly for it reduces the number of car exhausts being released into the air. Moreover, it is considered to be good for the health as individuals are given chances to engage in physical activities, and riding a bicycle or walking to the bus or subway station can all be counted as a form of exercising. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages to be considered. To begin with, many people choose to drive as a way of commuting because there are not enough buses or subways available during rush hours. Transportation companies or related departments should ensure the frequency of these public transportations in order to avoid inconveniences. In addition, adjustments should be made under extreme weather conditions. For instance, if there is a rainstorm to be predicted on the scheduled traffic restriction day, governments should consider reschedule it since it would be too hard to walk or ride bikes on days like this. In conclusion, it seems to me that the restrictions on cars will definitely provide more benefits for the long term, but the flexibility of these rules should be included to reduce the negative effects.