Many cities have become less pleasant places to live in recent years Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Numerous cities have become less liveable in recent decades, although the traffic congestion in the city and unfriendliness of people are big problems, I strongly believe that there are many solutions for these problems. The major problem is traffic congestion. This problem makes people’s traveling to all places in the urban area take a long time, which is staying on the road longer compared to people in rural areas. This is because while the number of cars in the city has increased rapidly, the road system has not expanded properly. However, I believe that this problem can be solved by the state issuing a policy for controlling the number of cars such as increasing the purchase car tax together with developing the public transportation system which allows people to travel to all places conveniently without cars. For example, in 2010, the Singapore government took an action in solving the traffic congestion by increasing the tax on car buying from 8% to 15%, along with focusing on developing the public transportation such as MRT, railway. As a result, the number of cars on the road decreased in 2017 which makes people be more happy to stay in the city. The second major problem is unfriendliness in city folks. This makes people feel lonely and unhappy. This is because the stress from the workplace leads them to have less interaction with other people. Nevertheless, one possible solution to this problem is the government provide a campaign which allows people to release their stress and also connect people in the community together. For Instance, In Vientiane Capital, the state, together with the American embassy, issued a campaign named “ThatDam We Share” in the Thaddam center, in which people were coming to build the relationship between them by sharing all their experience they faced in the society. This makes them understand each other, and also reduces their stress. As a result, people interact more with each other, gaining relationships and feeling happy. In conclusion, although traffic congestion and decreasing friendliness are the big problems worldwide, I believe that these solutions can tackle them effectively. I recommend that the government from all cities in this world share the way of solutions in order to make all cities liveable.