Many cities are relocating their industry to the suburbs. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages?

There is an irrefutable fact that excessive numbers of industrial organizations with manufacturing and assembly lines are being repositioned to outskirt areas. This suburban business shift has its own benefits and drawbacks. It can be said that the relocation of the industrial zone to the suburb has some noteworthy positive effects. The paramount advantages of this transference is to reduce the environment contamination due to the industrial emissions, which cause various adverse impacts on the health of residents in the surrounding neighbourhood. In this spectrum, exhaust fumes and chemical waste from industrial activities are deemed to be the primary cause for various physical and mental illnesses including asthma or ischemic heart disease, such migration of mass manufacturing corporations will help pacify the problem. In addition, the devastating traffic congestion that consumes a considerable amount of time for daily commuting can be lessened. The business repositioned to rural areas will help decrease employee movements to the central area where these factories are located at rush hour hence a reduction in road accidents and a decrease in traffic fatalities Despite these aforementioned benefits, several drawbacks do exist. The major negative effects of the suburb shift are the increasing transportation cost. Since firms move their manufacturing plants and factory lines to distant areas, the distance between their manufacturing site and production factors including raw materials and assembly components will be higher, which may reduce either the profits or the competitive advantages of the firm. Besides, the agricultural lands parcel will be narrowed due to the construction of industrial zones accompanied with supporting facilities and infrastructures. As a result, the peasants will lose their land, which precipitates two scenarios: they will become tenant farmers with lease contracts to farm someone else’s land for a cash payment or they must seek alternative occupations. Also, the price of agricultural products will be accelerated. In conclusion, it is worth considering that there are both advantages and disadvantages of relocating business to the rural area in order to propound conductive policy for substantial development.