Many businesses choose to recruit from within their own countries rather than sourcing staff from overseas. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Several organisations prefer to employ people of their resident country instead of selecting workforce from a foreign nation. Although the demerits of choosing local employees over foreigners exist, the benefits that includes, cheaper recruitment and the knowledge of local culture, have more weight which will be discussed in this essay. There are two main downsides to recruiting from within the business locality instead of abroad. The first is that the local talent pool is limited. This implies that the people are unlikely to operate the business properly. It takes a team of very knowledgeable persons to promote the growth of an organisation. Relying solely on internal hiring means one could miss the chance to hire people with new skills and ideas. Another drawback is that it results in a stagnant culture. This is because employees can get too comfortable with the way things are done and struggle to spot inefficiencies and experiment with new ways of working. The use of technology, for instance, is a better approach to work which is a struggle in developing countries. While I recognize the demerits associated with employing citizens as against expatriates, the upsides far supersedes, for two major reasons. Perhaps, the most notable one is that it is cost effective. Hiring a migrant will cost the company over double what it will spend to recruit locally. Such cost includes, high remuneration, immigration processes and several trainings to enable a smooth transition, hence, the reason to consider people of same environment as the business for employment. Another plausible merit is that the citizens have knowledge of the local culture and business practices. Local candidates understand the culture in which they live and are also native speakers of the local language. This means they can navigate potential problems with greater ease and interact better with customers to give clients the best experience possible. To sum up, it is true that most organisations consider citizens of native country for employment over migrants. Be that as it may, I opine that the advantages have more significance, since it is cheap and the awareness of local culture is vital. This essay also discussed the cons, such as lesser number of talents and resistance to change.