Many businesses choose to recruit from within their own company rather than sourcing staff from overseas. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

These days many people believe that the companies should hire local employees rather than recruiting from abroad. I totally agree with this point of view as there are a lot of benefits for a company to hire local employees. Whilst acknowledging that there are drawbacks the essay will argue that the advantages of recruiting from within a company clearly outweigh the disadvantages. First, hiring an employee from within a company is a good motivation for business’s staff. This in turn, can improve corporate culture of a firm and productivity of employees. For example, the bank, where I work, always promotes a local employee for a managerial position and it encourages other staff to work hard to get such a promotion. In addition, recruiting from local staff helps cut unemployment rate thus improving business climate of the country. On the other hand, some companies attract staff from abroad as there are might be a deficiency of qualified cadres in their own country. For example, in Kazakhstan we can observe that there are no highly qualified professionals in economic spheres such as oil industry and pharmacy. However, this kind of problems can be effectively addressed by training local staff. I believe that the businesses should hire local staff rather than attracting employees from overseas because it positively affects company’ staff and helps to improve local economy by reducing an unemployment rate.