foreigners should follow local customs and behaviour, or whether the locals should accept cultural diversities. discuss both sides

There is an argument among some people on whether foreigners should follow local customs and behaviour, or whether the locals should accept cultural diversities. This essay will discuss both sides and outline my opinion. All countries have their own cultures that have been valued by their people since long time ago. People from certain countries have several traditions that make them different with other countries. For example, Japanese have to conduct certain rituals when cherry blossoms bloom, or people in India have to lock themselves in their houses in a day called “Nyepi”. There are also differences between new year celebration in America and in Korea. Besides, all countries also have different norms, regulations, and ideologies. It is acceptable for people from western countries to address older people with their name, but it is considered as impolite to people in eastern countries. I think it would be inappropriate if people from other countries do certain things that oppose local cultures or norms. However, in this globalisation era, people have to accept cultural diversity because they have to interact with people from other countries. People cannot be forced to do local activities in certain countries that are different with their own cultures, because it would be contradict with their religions or ideologies, but they have to be considerate of what the locals do. In my opinion, people who come to other countries, either as tourists or immigrants, have to value about certain things that are valued by the locals. In conclusion, the most important thing for both foreigners and locals is to value the cultural diversities. Foreigners have to tolerate the local norms and traditions without following them, while locals also have to accept that there are people who have different traditions and ideologies.