Many believe that to be successful in a particular sport, having a natural ability is more important than training and hardwork.

Peoples opinion differs as to the determination of success in the sporting world. While some opine that success in athletics requires inherent ability, others however argue that excelling in sporting activities requires being assiduous and persistent. However, I am of the opinion that being successful in sport requires not only the innate skills but also working hard and being focused. On the one hand, those who advocate that having the inherent skills is the major determinant to being successful in the world of sport do so on the grounds that certain physical body traits are Paramount to attaining a greater height in it. To buttress this point, an athlete who possesses good inbuilt physique may perform better in some certain sports than their counterparts who don't. For instance, a current research that was done by FIFA revealed that most of the best players usually come from Portugal because of their bowleg and long legs which they possess. Furthermore, most sporting activities requires the knowledge of the basics in order to excel. For instance, Michelle Jonah who is the world best swimmer got her skills at an early age when she was exposed to swimming by her parents. Thus, it is evident that having the skills is necessary to stand out as an athlete. On the other hand, those who are of the opinion that been hardworking and persistent is key to achieving a successful career in sports do so on the basis that longer years of practice and consistency would birth the desired goals. In other words, an athlete who engages in a particular sport may do well with constant practice as well as been persistent. For instance, the world best lawn tennis player serena Williams who was interviewed on BBC spoke on her success secret which was narrowed down to her diligence, assiduousness as well as patience. Consequently, these attributes have helped her maintain her status as the best for the past 10 years. Moreover, most people who perform poorly in a certain sport might be as a result of lack of ample training as well as being committed. Therefore, it is clear that working hard is important in Athletics. In conclusion, despite people's varying opinion, I am of the view that performing excellently in sports requires not only the inherent skills but also years of constant practice.