Many believe that the advancement in science and technology has made an earth a better place to live. However, others argue that these rapid advancements will be an ultimate threat to mankind in the long-run. Express your opinion.

Human beings have done a tremendous progress in the fields of science and technology. Science and technology have made our life easier as compared to the previous decades. However, there is a heated debate upon whether the use of science and technology will benefit us in the long run or not. Personally, I believe that the rapid advancement in the fields of science and technology will surely act as a threat to mankind in the coming years; if the humans do not use it in a proper manner. Technology is changing our way of living and our thinking towards the external world. In the name of making the world a global village through the use of social media sites, people are using technology in both negative and positive ways. In the recent days, the cases of cyber bullying, hacking, phishing, etc. have affected the mental and emotional health of the victims. Similarly, the overuse of technology such as online games is harming the mental wellbeing of the users. Also, the dependency on technology makes people lazy and inactive that adversely affects their physical health. To meet the demand of the current population of the world, scientists invented chemical fertilizers and pesticides that increase the yield of crops in the farms. However, the use of these chemicals is deteriorating the quality of the environment as well as affecting the health of the organisms. Particularly, the invention of Artificial Intelligence can pose a great threat to the mankind in the near future. Although Artificial Intelligence can make human lives easier, they can also make it worse with their self-replication features. To conclude, the advancement in science and technology can pose a great threat to the mankind in the future if the humans are not conscious about its use.