MANY BELIEVE THAT IT IS IMPORTANT TO PROTECT ALL WILD ANIMALS, WHILE OTHERS THINK THAT IT IS IMPORTANT TO PROTECT SOME, NOT ALL OF THEM

With the increase in global warming and escalation in the climate change process, A new debate arises on whether to protect all wild animals or some according to their vulnerability. Here, I will discuss both these ideas and in the conclusion, I will state my opinion and the reasons I consider for that. Firstly, people who favour the protection of overall animal species considered that the death of any animals leads to disturbance in the food chain. Further, this food change connects the food web which results in scarcity of food for wild animals which are present at higher-order in the food web. For instance, a recent study by the discovery channel finds out that a large no of frog death in gorest directly impacted the prey of cheetah in wild. So the life of wild animals is linked with one another. Secondly, people who prefer the protection of some endangered/vulnerable animals think it’s superficial to protect all the animals. Access to the cost involved and manpower required to travel each species is very high. Moreover, they aim to have a pilot programme completely specific to species facing survival threats. For instance, the Indian government started the project tiger in 1972 on this particular thought process. Therefore, a selective Approach leads to a spillover effect on other species which are located at the lower end of the food chain. According to my opinion, some animals requires more protection than others. As government have a scarcity of resources, so it's an intelligent decision to have a specific approach toward endangered animals. Further, there is a need to properly access and collect data about other animals so that if they face survival challenges due to hazardous conditions. They can be properly provided protection beforehand.