Many animals are endangered. Some people argue that we should only protect animals that are useful to humans.

Often, we come across documentaries and articles about various species of animals and plants which are on the brink of extinction. A certain group of individuals believes that we should conserve only those species which come into use by human beings. In my opinion, we should protect the flora and fauna which are not directly used by us as this will help maintain nature’s balance. Caring and protecting only domestic animals may lead to advancement in farming and other industries which heavily depend on animal use. Wild animals such as tiger and bison live in forests if we push them out and clear forests, we can acquire more land for farming, building factories, and mining, as a result, it may bring about even more economic development. On the other hand, not conserving and protecting endangered species is wrong and can have a detrimental effect on us. Firstly, this is against the moral code of conduct which asks us to be kind and considerate, and just because a particular animal species is not useful still, we can coexist. Secondly, when we hear that animals are getting endangered it also points underlying cause which can be harmful to us. As per “Our planet” docuseries in Netflix emperor penguins are getting endangered as each year 20% of the ice caps on the polar regions are reducing due to global warming because of pollution. This depletion of polar ice is raising the sea levels and there is a drop-in amount of reflecting harmful solar radiation as well. Thirdly, many endangered species are exquisite and unique. For instance, various butterfly species and macaws are just so dazzling to look at they must be protected at any cost. In conclusion, this predicament of caring for animals which are useful to human and not conserving endangered species is reckless. Even though it might seem that we are protecting endangered animals but in long run, we are protecting ourselves by restoring the balance of nature.