Many animal species in the world are becoming extinct nowadays. Some people say that countries and individuals should protect these animals from dying out, while others say we should concentrate more on problems of human beings.

There is no denying that there are many animal species extinct every year. While some people think it is important to prioritize issues that are faced by human beings, I think by preventing animal extinction, countries and individuals are also combating human society issues. Admittedly, there are many people related problems that look more imminent and pressing than protecting animals. It is because people and countries will suffer from immediate consequences without addressing those issues. For example, millions of people pass away due to cancer and rare illness every year even with dedicated support and funding. If governments prioritise research on preserving biodiversity, that will lead a trend of shifting research focus. It could delay major medical breakthroughs for decades and cause meaningless pain and suffering. However, In my opinion, preventing animal extinction and solving modern society issues do not contradict each other. Due to the strong interconnection between animals and humans, when countries search for solutions, it is not outlandish to find the same strategies applied universally. For instinct, since the cloning of Dolly the sheep in 1996, scientists have known that DNA from a single cell can be used to produce an organism. Gene targeting technology involved from the cloning has been widely used on finding cures for genetic disease and showing promising outcomes on heart diseases and hereditary diabetes. In conclusion, although human beings are facing countless challenges and need more attention, I believe that protecting endangered animal species can solve society issues as well as it advances the technologies and proposes new solutions.