Adolescent pregnancy and Abortion

Unready pregnancy can flip over the entire world of a young girl. Giving birth to a child at a young age always comes along with arduous physical and mental health. After all nine months long, of course, it is not the end of a tough journey. Motherhood yet is an unavoidable responsibility for the rest of life. Unfortunately, there is a growing number of young mothers who are deciding to end their child’s life by abortion. On the one hand, there are several reasons for adolescent pregnancy. Firstly, culture is one of the factors that contribute to teen pregnancy. According to UNICEF, at least 1. 5 million girls each year get married before age 18 in India. However, there is a decrease in the number of young girls getting married under age 18 in the years 2005-2006 and 2015-2016. The percentage has declined from 47 percent to 27 percent, respectively, but the rate is still high. This makes India have the largest number of early marriages in the world. According to an Indian wedding custom, all expenses are paid by the bride. These include the dowry that the girl has to pay to the bridegroom. However, the amount of dowry depends on the educational level and status of the groom. In addition, lack of education is another major cause of early pregnancy. That is, teachers in the schools or even parents sometimes avoid sexual conversations or sexual guidance. As a result, teenage pregnancy increases when youngsters lack knowledge about sexuality or safe sex practices from adults. Then, they started to ask for help from their friends, which lead them to the wrong understanding about sex. Plan International has mentioned that there is an inequality between women and men. In other words, social norms have attenuated the girls’ values. Girls are considered to have no role other than getting married, and the young ladies are denied the right to make decisions in their lives. Plus, they are expected to be responsible for housework and always be ready to get married. On the other hand, young individuals' abortion has increasingly gained a higher number in varied hospitals. It is considered an immoral way of ending one’s life before birth. In other words, life fails to start his/her living after his/her mother has aborted the pregnancy. Simultaneously, the aborticide could occasionally be reasonable in teenagers. Some acceptable reasons include an increase in the health risks associated with both the young mother and her baby. Along with the health risks, the young mother has incredibly easy to get anemia, high blood pressure, depression, and premature birth. Due to healthiness, there is the possibility of impact on the baby, which refers to abnormalities of a fetus; low birth weight, blindness, deafness, and respiratory problems. Furthermore, teens getting pregnant at an early age are limited opportunities to continue to study. That is to say, amongst the teenage mothers tend to cancel their pregnancy in order to pursue their higher education. From teen moms’ perspectives, instead of rating a newborn, the infant should be eliminated. As seen from the fact that the baby's life seems to be obstacles, indeed, is a decrease in the percentage of achievement. A high school diploma or a college degree can guarantee their stable jobs in the future. Plus, being a mother while studying causes a lack of motherhood, also leads to growing up with instabilities of baby's life. According to Guttmacher Institute, during 2010-2014, the rate of abortion among teenagers in Asia was estimated at 27%. To reduce the high level of mortality rates of the infant, the government should take action towards the circumstances. The government should launch projects and campaigns to stimulate society. Serious sex education is an essential factor for creating public awareness, teenage girls and boys should be understood the fundamental knowledge. Public services must be available to ensure young individuals appropriate information. For instance, the government provides condom and birth control pills training, use of the practice could help to prevent unreadily and unwanted pregnancy. Furthermore, financial support should be improved and expanded to the young family. It is difficult to deny that the newborn’s mother needed a large number of expenditures for both post and after giving birth, therefore, not surprisingly, their solutions are likely to have the abortion. Most teenage mothers lack wealth to support herself and her child’s life, there is a high chance to grow up with inappropriate surroundings. Certainly, the fundamental support from the government could reduce the tension of financial institutions in the household. As well, it will lead to a decrease in abortion determination. To conclude, the most common solution for unexpected pregnancy at a young age is abortion, and this complication should be resolved. Cultural factors and lack of education are the major causes that create early pregnancy, which also leads to abortion. By doing this, abortion causes harm to both mother and child. Also, it reduces the chances of success in the future due to school interruption. Moreover, government support is a high-powered key to driven young girls not to do the abortion.