Many advancements in technology are making people’s lives easier, users need to think and do less to achieve tasks

Humans have become extremely dependent on technology in modern times. On a daily basis, people simplify their lives by using technological aids to communicate, work and travel. The long-term effect of this relationship with technology warrants further investigation. The downsides of overreliance on technology are physical and mental deterioration, however I believe the positives can be more significant such as saving time and energy for enjoyable healthy and social activities. The daily use of technology has created stagnant lifestyles whereby people are less physically and mentally and this leads to numerous psychological and physiological deficiencies. As people sit in front of their computer screens for 10 hours a day to accomplish their office work, instead of doing manual labour, they do not get exercise and this leads to obesity as well as cardiovascular disease. Furthermore people play games on their smartphones rather than read academic books and this results in a lack of ability for critical thinking. I notice on myself that the more I use my smartphone for entertainment, learning and shopping the more I become lazy and gain weight. Nevertheless technology does have significant benefits when used wisely. Certainly advancements in technology have alleviated much of the time and energy required to accomplish daily endeavors which took up much of the day for generations in the past and has freed up many hours in the day to invest in other, more preferred activities. A century ago, people spent many hours cleaning their homes, walking to work, doing the dishes, which can now be done with the help of vacuum cars and dishwashers, respectively. Instead of these chores, people can go to the park with their families or have barbecue with their friends, thereby having more fun and enjoying life. Just last week, i saved three hours of my time on saturday by throwing my clothes into the washing machines and instead of painstakingly doing it by my hand, i used this time to go bowling with friends Clearly advancements in technology have had positive and negative impacts on human life, namely physical and mental well being, and use of time and energy. With many perspectives considered, I am in support of using technology to decrease demand of human effort so that more time can be spent enjoying life.