Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their functions.

It is undeniable that technological inventions has been facilitating people's lives in all spheres of life and the area of education or getting knowledge is one of them. Therefore, some people insist that this techno-savvy era the maintenance of public libraries is just a wastage of an enormous amount of time as the use of computer could substitute the libraries. This essay will argue why the idea of keeping libraries is slightly preposterous despite some few benefits. To begin with, with the advancement of science and technology more and more people tend to choose computers and internet to being educated or knowledgeable so that the public libraries are useless in terms of imparting knowledge in a large extent. Because people consider the use of technological devices for educational purpose far more convenient than searching books from the libraries as the world of internet is so gigantic and people prefer to use this since they could get an abundance of anything they searched on internet in just one click. Indeed, there have been some recorded instances of people being concerned towards the computers instead of libraries due to its versatility. These few instances make it clear that computers and internet are far more advantageous than visiting libraries or finding a particular catalogue on the book shelves and the use of these devices has been taking the place of libraries eventually. Despite this, there are some few benefits of libraries which are still alive even in today's scientific era which could not be ignored. The library is certainly a quieter place to study and most of the students preferred this place in order to feel themselves being in the more concentrated environment because this place could motivate the learners to study in a more structured manner. Moreover, senior citizens opt to visit the libraries for reading newspapers, articles and much more and at the same time very young children used to learn the rhymes, short stories during their visit to the kids library. For example, one research article suggests that 70 % of senior citizens getting the avail of libraries in South America because they feel themselves truly connected towards the public library of their city. Overall, the libraries are still serving in a good way in this fast- paced century. To conclude, this essay argued that why high demanding technology replacing the libraries progressively and there is no need to spend time in the maintenance of libraries, but it is also true that purpose of libraries is intact and they have been providing a good atmosphere to study and gaining vast knowledge to the people of all age groups.