Machine translation (MT) has made it much easier to communicate with people from other cultures but it is not without its pitfalls. What are the advantages and disadvantages of MT?

Translation with artificial intelligence is a far convenient method of conversation with individuals of diverse nations, but it has its downsides too. This essay will first suggest that the decline of the communication gap is the primary benefit, and accuracy is the major drawback of machine translation. The main advantage of this new technology is that it is helpful to lessen down the distance of communication. In other words, there are some languages in this world that cannot be understood without learning them. For instance, there is the Chinese language which is far much difficult to understand and learn, but with the help of the latest technology, it becomes easy to communicate with them too. Moreover, persons can translate online anything, and it can also help understand their norms and traditions. When someone puts any holiday event of them on the translation box, they can read the method of celebrating it. As a result, it increases their knowledge of different communities. In this way, this new tool has become very efficient for everyone. Despite this benefit, there is an adverse effect too which is the issue of accurateness. For instance, machines can translate line by line, and emotions and specific meanings in different societies are not understandable by it. As a result, if someone interprets a different meaning, it is not considered by them like that then it will be problematic. This results in undermine the image of any country in front of other countries which leads to the decline of international relations. In short, machines are not reliable as much that we cannot rely upon them 100 percent. In conclusion, although machine translation is very much helpful to bring people together, at the same time it can also create differences among them.