Louis Pasteur by Holmes and Samuel

Louis Pasteur is a book written by Holmes and Samuel Jackson, named after a French biologist, microbiologist, chemist, and Catholic, with his discoveries about The principles of vaccination, microbial fermentation and pasteurization. Pasteur is known as the "father of microbiology". He never formally studied medicine but is still considered a great physician and "Benefactor of Humanity". Chapter XI of this book is about the conquest of hydrophobia or rabies. Before the 1880s, most of Europe's population lived in rural areas, where contact with animals that could carry rabies, including dogs, raccoons, bats, and rats. The people of the city are also not safe from this disease. Stray dogs and mice often carry rabies. If bitten by a rabid dog or cat, the disease is incurable, the infected person will definitely die. Pasteur spent five years, from 1880 to 1885, studying this disease. It was a wonderful chapter that recounted the great biologist's discovery of a rabies vaccine. His research has saved many lives, as of July 1923, the Pasteur treatment was administered to 1490 persons with a mortality of about one percent. It can be seen that he really spent a lot of time and enthusiasm in the research. With easy-to-understand but no less professional writing, the author has given readers the best and easiest-to-understand experiences about the process of finding a rabies vaccine by Louis Pasteur. Louis Pasteur is a book worth reading, it offers a wealth of medical and historical knowledge that makes it unique and always in the spotlight.