"Longer prison sentences Do not benefit price now society and reduce crime rates. Instead alternative method of commitment should be found. " Give reasons to support your idea, Why/Why not?

Nowadays, crime rates are rapidly increasing because some people are unresponsive behavior, and they cannot control aggressive emotion of themselves. In order to reduce crime rate, the police should control and punish criminal. Regulations such as longer prison sentence is one popular way to cope the offender. The topic of longer period sentences has been controversial. In my opinion, I strongly disagree with the statement and the following example will be provided in order to support my point of view. There are appropriate punishment to handle those criminals and help reduce crime rates for two main reason. One of the most important reasons is that it makes people to recognize about their crime. As offender will be punished and controlled behaviors in prison. Besides, if they were detained, they will lose freedom. Therefore, they will be more aware of making crime again. Another reason to support this is fact that offender should serve what they have done to the victims. In case, offender make severe crime such as they kill people thus, they should be controlled their behavior in prison over whole life. If offender cannot control themselves again, longer prison sentence will separate offender from other people. For example, according to report by Thai Royal Police, it revealed that after prison sentence, largely offender will murder people again. Therefore, government should encourage suitable policy about lasting detention to punish offenders. In conclusion, it is undoubtedly that law about longer prison sentence should be required to protect innocent from criminal. Moreover, detention in long period make offender recognize about their crime and defray mistake that they break a law.