ln some curtures the old oge is more volued, while in some cufiures the youlh is more valued. Discuss bolh views ond give you own opinion.

People in various cultures have different attitudes towards age. They opine that in Western societies the elderly are not respected while in Asian societies old people are always revered. This essay intends to analyse both perspectives. Firstly, I opine that old age is respected here, there and everywhere as old age is often associated with wisdom. With ages comes from experience and in most societies younger people usually consult older ones for advice on relationships and other matters. In some societies, not only older members of the family, but also ancestors are revered. However, in some nations the youth are more valued than older people since a young, vibrant workforce is needed for the holic development of the country. Many governments give priority to young people in terms of education as the future of that country is in the hands of younger people. By doing so, young people will be well-educated and equipped with proper knowledge. Eventually, they can move the society forward. I believe that age itself is not a qualification for anything. If we look at Western countries, we can find politicians or company executives in their sixties. In addition, as life expectancy increases, older people are becoming more valued as voters. On the other hand, in countries where elders were previously obeyed blindly, people come to understand that old age does not always mean wisdom. The obsolete way of running family, work or company may not work today as we are living in this era of technology. To sum up, the old and the young are essential for our society at the same level, thus they both should be valued. An ideal society should have a balance. We should appreciate both the potential of the young and the experience of old age.