ln lhe posf, leclures were used as a woY of teoching lorge numbers of sfudenfs, but now wilh the development of lechnology for educolion, mony people lhink there is no juslificotion for ollending lecfures. Io whof exlenl do you ogree or disogree?

I disagree with the view that technology has reduced the need to attend lectures. I firmly believe that going College or university and attending lectures is as important as before and even more so' ln the following paragraphs I shall put forth my arguments to support my views'. It is irrefutable that computers and lnternet have made possible distance education and online education' In this regard, computers are a boon for the handicapped, those living in remote areas and those in job' they canitudy any time of the day or night because of the lnternet. This has made education approachable for many who cannot for some reason or the other attend a college or university. However, I still feel that technology cannot replace the need for going to the classroom. When students Attend lectures, they learn from teachers. In learning and practice of more complex ideas, the computer is not adequate. it can tell if the answer is right or wrong, but it cannot tell where the student went wrong' Tasks involving reasoning cannot be taught using computers. Moreover, teachers add their own knowledge gained through experience to that of books and other resources. Furthermore, teachers can stimulate interest and it is an undeniable fact that interested stimulated people Tend to learn more. They can keep students focused on the study. A student studying by himself may get bored and stop studying. Teachers can provide a faster and simpler way to present information to the students' They can come down to the level of a student and so are definitely better than computers. What is more, teachers are role models for students. They are scholars in action. They not only teach academic subjects, but also many social skills. Finally, when students attend lectures, they have interaction with other students, which gives them a sense of competition to study more. To conclude, it can be said that, there is no doubt that modern technology has added many new ways to reach education to students, but attending lectures will always hold its importance.