llowing children to decide for themselves will result in a egocentricity-ridden society.

In my opinion children should be able to make their own decisions as the benefits far outweigh the risk of people only thinking about themselves. This idea has been researched by many professionals over the last few years. Their findings support my opinions explained below. To begin with, it is highly improbable that allowing children to decide for themselves will result in a egocentricity-ridden society. There are already countries where this is being practiced by parents and no extreme situations have been recorded. For example, Netherlands embraces the idea of individual development from a young age without affecting the overall emotional evolution of the individuals within the community. In addition, making their own decisions will enable children to learn how to be independent and will prepare them for adult life. For example, young people deciding for themselves become more responsible at an early age. This is very helpful because they are already active in their thinking, making them more useful for the society they live in. Furthermore, by choosing for themselves, children will be able to express their creativity and ideas. For instance, when selecting their own clothes, foods and types of entertainment they identify their likes and dislikes, thus defining their identity. Moreover, they will be less inclined to feel afraid to express their ideas. In conclusion, the belief that children being more independent will result in a society full of selfish adults is wrong. As mentioned above, the idea of children being allowed to make decisions has been tested in numerous countries and no detrimental effects have been found.