Living in Small Villages

A few decades ago, small villages abounded with many villagers where all the inhabitants knew each other and had peaceful rural lifestyles until urbanization. But in contrast with the past, the world has become more industrialized, and many villagers have moved to large cities where they have more job opportunities than the villages. There are positive and negative aspects of living in small villages, especially in developing countries. Residents from rural villages, from my point of view, can experience four main benefits. First of all, the rates of using motor vehicles are lower in small village communities so that there aren't traffic jams; also traffic accidents are fewer there. Secondly, the amount of air pollution emitted from road vehicles is low as villagers, especially in developing countries, seldom use motor vehicles. Therefore, there would be less impact on villagers' health, the environment, and the climate of the villages. Moreover, most of the personalities of the populations are positive: honest, kind, friendly, and united. For instance, if the villagers build a bridge or hold traditional festivals, their unity can be seen obviously. Nonetheless, there are also disadvantages for inhabitants living in small villages. Firstly, some basic infrastructure facilities: electricity, hospitals, markets, schools, etc. , are lacking in villages far from the towns. It means that villagers have to bear the difficulties due to the lack of those facilities, e. g. , the high illiteracy rate, transportation barriers to access health care for surgical conditions. In addition, as the main production activity in villages is farming, they could also suffer food insecurity because of bad weather conditions. Furthermore, the telecommunication system is still developing in many rural areas; thus, there might be slow internet network connections in villages. Overall, it may be more disadvantageous to live in small villages even though there are also good aspects in that case. That's why the governments of the countries are trying to improve small villages to the best of their abilities.