LIVING IN HORIZONTAL( ngang OR VERTICAL( thẳng) CITIES!

Choosing where to live depends on various factors. Some people think that living in vertical cities is the best choice while others favor horizontal ones. My essay will shed lights on two kinds of cities. The idea of living in vertical cities proves appealing to youngsters. Imagine that you stand on the top of skyscrapers and overlook things in crowded cities, you can enjoy the sense of excitement and feel like conquering the world. In addition, average low-incomers, especially the young, prefer the idea of purchasing apartments which are more affordable and accessible to central areas easily. Besides, housing investors can sell reasonably-priced apartments faster than houses on the ground. Therefore, the appearance of more skyscrapers is undeniable. Equally important, in the technology-driven world, the construction of houses with hundreds of floor is no longer a far-fetched dream. Nevertheless, others desire to settle down in horizontal cities for some rationales. Living here, people are exposed to larger natural world. The dense appearance of skyscrapers prevents nature lovers from seeing birds and enjoying fresher air. Moreover, much as vertical houses are more affordable, they are far from safe in case of fire explosions. Social statistics have shown that hardly can people escape alive when living on the hundredth floor when fire spreads. Poor sanitation in skyscrapers is another irrefutable factor hindering people from living here. Horizontal cities are, however, able to bestow people greater intimacy. Waking up in the morning and getting out of their house, they can meet their neighbors easily whereas those living up into the sky can seldom communicate and just close their doors after their work. In areas with large space and untouched natural world, the idea of building horizontal cities is feasible and preferable. In brief, no matter where you live, the most important is that you should take health, money, environment and personal feelings into consideration. I, to be honest, fall in love with horizontal cities where I am close to nature and humans.