Living in an apartment instead of a university dormitory has advantages and disadvantages.

After getting admitted to a university, a student needs to decide where to live and this choice severely affects his academic performance and student life. While most universities offer residence facility for students, many opt to live in an apartment and this has both benefits and demerits. This essay probe the advantages and disadvantages of living in a separate apartment than living in the university provided residential houses. Living in an apartment offers many distinct advantages and the privacy is one of them. While a university dormitory is shared by several students, someone living in an apartment enjoys far more freedom and privacy than the students living in dormitories. He can choose a quiet neighbourhood and this environment is conducive for studying attentively. Furthermore, living in an apartment makes students more independent and they can choose a more healthy diet. Finally, apartments are tidier than the dormitory and pupils can stay away from bad influences. For instance, one of my cousins had to move to an apartment after living in a university dormitory for about six months and his main reason for the shift was cleanliness. Having said that, there are some visible disadvantages of living in a flat rather than living in a university residence hall. First and foremost is the cost. In my country living in an apartment is quite expensive while university offers cheap accommodation. The food on the university campus is also cheaper while this is not the case when a student lives in a flat away from the university. Second, renting an apartment in my city is hard for a student. The landlords prefer families over the students. Furthermore, the daily commuting is convenient from the university halls while not so easy from the apartments away from the university campus. Last but not the least, campus staying students have better interaction with seniors and teachers. Even though there are many advantages of living in an apartment, I would prefer to live in the university dormitory. The first and foremost reason for me to be able to attend my classes without commuting through bad traffic. I hate to wait in the heavy traffic and as I do not own a car. I would also like to enjoy my university life and stay in touch with my seniors, teachers and classmates whenever possible. The university life has so many things to offer and I do not want to miss them.