Developing countries like Bangladesh should concentrate more on industrial development, instead of agriculture, to achieve better development.

Developing countries have a great potential to accelerate its progress and they want to achieve it faster. Though there is no hard and fast rule that a country can develop if it focuses on expanding industries rather than agriculture, I personally believe that a developing country like Bangladesh should have a well-conceived industrialisation strategy like India, China or Hong Kong to become a developed country. Agriculture, without any doubt, is an important sector for a country like Bangladesh where more than 70% people rely on this sector. However, it is undeniable that along the agriculture, especially in this era of the digital world, cannot enlist a country as an advanced nation. The industrial revolution in the world has taught us that manual labour and agricultural products cannot alone improve the economic condition of a nation overnight. A country must have export oriented industry or great industrial hub point to progress and compete with the rich nations. For instance, a poor country has to export several thousand tonnes of grains to import only a few number of machinery. This disparity will keep on enhancing if the nation cannot become industrially sufficient. Asian economy has already shifted from farming and fishing to industrialisation and no developing country can further progress without following the same pathway here. Industrialisation is the key to progress and countries like Japan, China, Hong Kong, Korea, Singapore and many more have gained quick success by industrialisation. While agricultural development should not be ignored, especially in countries like Bangladesh, industrialisation should get more priority. Diversifying the agricultural products and exports is a great power for an agricultural-based country, but this takes a long way to reach the top and with the revolution and rapid expansion of the industrial world, this has become quite challenging, in a practical world. To conclude, an agriculture-dependent country like Bangladesh should try to diversify its agricultural sector for becoming self-sufficient on their food supply but must have a long-term industrial strategy to develop further.