Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems as well as practical problems To what extent do you agree

It is noticed that speaking a second language when moving to another country leads to problems both socially and practically. This essay agrees with this statement and will discuss how using a foreign language is a barrier in communicating socially with people and in daily practice. Firstly, one principal social issue when speaking a different language is the ability to make new relationships with people who speak the language fluently which will eventually lead to loneliness and to be withdrawn from the society. For instance, if someone is from an Arabic-speaking country and travels to a country like France and only knows a little French, then he will face difficulty in expressing himself to a native speaker and this can create difficulties in communication. This could be explained by the inability to understand and speak this language subsequently leading to confusion, misunderstanding, and sometimes conflicts, so relationship building will be difficult. Moreover, speaking a second language is seen to affect practical aspects of life such as work due to the language barrier. For example, if a person moved to another country and works with people who speak another language which he barely understands, work tasks will be hard to achieve. To illustrate more, an effective working environment and communication with colleagues need mutual understanding, and this is dependent upon knowing the language properly. In conclusion, relocating to a country where speaking a foreign language is needed has an impact and will cause social and practical problems mainly as a consequence of miscommunication and language barriers.