There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Nowadays the musical industry increased significantly, creating a wide diversity of different genres such as pop, indie, rock and etcetera. In this essay, I will underline some reasons for the extreme popularity of music and the importance of traditional music comparing with worldwide one. Regarding the reasons, initially, music was created as a type of leisure that people could enjoy in the theatres, in most cases, to calm down and decrease the stress level. In our times, the reasons stayed stable, after a stressful workday or as a break from assignments, people reduce anxiety and depression with music. Secondly, music is a sufficient way of learning different languages. For example, the learning process of the English alphabet, in most cases, is presented via the song, this way it is easier to memorise the information. When it comes to the debate about what kind of music is more important, in my opinion, it depends on the purpose. Traditional music is a great source of the country’s history. Lyrics sometimes might illustrate the culture, social situation, as well as some important historical events of the specific period of time. On the other hand, new music is more habitual for modern society. For instance, when we used to listen to traditional music in school, it took me a lot of effort to understand the lyrics and the purpose of the song, while every time I listened to international music, it made me rather relaxed. In conclusion, music has high importance for people for a very long period of time. It helps people to relax, as well as learn new languages, as well as illustrates the history and traditions of different countries.