In some countries, people waste a lot of food that they buy in shops and restaurants. Why do people waste food? What can we do to reduce the waste?

It is true that people tend to throw away a large quantity of food bought in stores and restaurants even when some are still in good condition. My essay below will analyze both the causes and solutions to this pressing concern. The waste behaviour of consumers is caused by several factors. The first one derives from the extravagant lifestyle of generations. For instance, when visiting the restaurants, customers usually opt to order more than they can eat. As a result, some food, sometimes untouched, is cleared to rubbish bins. The second reason is advertisements enticing / swaying / tempting / luring(không đi với to-inf) the customer into buying/ to buy things they do not really want. In fact, customers buy products from grocery stores, after that they have to discard the provisions in refrigerators to make way for the new arrivals though many of those abandoned are still within expiration date. There are two main solutions to the aforementioned problem. Firstly, the local authorities can launch campaigns like the importance of thrift to raise/increase/build consumer’s awareness. It is true that those impulsive housewives who are usually shopping should be provided with useful information to avoid/hinder the thriftlessness. Secondly, the restaurants should orient customers when ordering food. For example, restaurants can impose a heavy fine on diners who order too many but cannot finish them or encourage customers to pack leftovers. In conclusion, there are two main contributors to the waste of food and several countermeasures are taken to put an end to the situation.