Libraries should focus on improving their technological resources rather than in building a larger collection of paper books.

Libraries are a hub of paper books, thus it is often argued that libraries should pay attention on extending and enhancing their technological resources. Without any doubt, I agree with the statement, due to easy access and wide popularity, the resources such as ebooks, media books are preferred. This essay will dicuss the importance of it. It is quite evident that storing ebooks or digital books seems cost effective as it only takes a fraction of memory in the computer and no storage space is needed. In addition to it, computers allow easy access to stored information leading to better customer service. For example, searching ebooks on a computer is time effective than strolling around in different sections to match the title and one does not have to leave the seat. Moreover, the ebooks are upto date and user friendly unlike the paper books. Besides the aforementioned benefits, one considerable advantage is ebooks can be readily downloaded and shared with friends which help people to share similar interests and make communities that aids in social interaction and gatherings among them. Moreover, publishing paper books on a large scale involves adverse environmental effects such as cutting of trees that indeed harms the climate leading to lesser vegetation. In conclusion, it is apparent that societies and libraries would be benefitted in number of ways such as no need of storage space, good customer service and people satisfaction, if they emphasize on enhancing the technological resources.