Liberty and democracy change by the NATO

Written examination practice #2 · The fight against terrorism · The security balance in the world 1/b NATO needs to defend liberty against threats outside borders in countries which have no democracy. It is difficult to establish democracy and liberty in a country that has not experienced it before. NATO also needs to convince major powers such as China, India and Russia to build strong security and to achieve a better effect. 2 The document 1 is a conference speech given by Czech Prime Minister Mirek Topolanek, which means he may have more experience about the problem. Visualization used in the document about the defense of liberty as image “ its military units would be pointless, an empty shell, a paper tiger” gives a clear image to persuade readers and listeners more effectively. The challenges and problems were successfully introduced by different paragraphs including: defend liberty against outside borders, safeguard security, and the one about to convince other world powers. Each of the introduced challenges concluded and gave clear conclusions in it. Resources, quotes are presented in the document by using famous US president Thomas Jefferson words. In document 1, he used a lot of examples which effectively support the conclusion. On the other hand, the document is too biased. He used only the words of the US president as evidence for establishing perspective. Although there were views about the US president, plenty more evidence should be added to the document to make it reliable. Due to the only one perspective, the document is unbalanced. Author mentioned only the positive side rather than balancing it by the addition of problems which could arise from NATO. The speech is adapted from 10 years after NATO Expansion: Successes, Challenges. Expectations by the Prime minister. Thus he could have exaggerated some side of NATO due to his personal interest. 3