In some countries, small town-Centre shops are going out of business because people tend to drive to large out-of-town stores. As a result, people without cars have limited access to out-of-town stores, and it may result in an increase in the use of cars. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In few countries, small kiosks are on the verge of bankruptcy as consumers are using private transport to visit malls and stores out of town. This essay will demonstrate why disadvantages such as, decrease in the local economy and increase in pollution outweigh the advantage of having one stop, to buy all products at cheaper prices. Firstly, in many countries, local economies are major contributors of financial growth and they are getting hampered by large out-of-town stores. Due to these outlets, locals are unable to generate enough revenue for their survival and they will eventually run out of business. For instance, Wal-Mart recently opened a store at Roseville, which had an enormous impact on local businesses. Moreover, usage of private vehicles to commute to stores will lead to the increase in air pollution as well as traffic congestion; this can be a greater threat in near future. For example, in 2019, Ikea inaugurated its first store in Asia, this resulted in frequent road blocks that lasted for about 8 hours in Hyderabad. On the other hand, the main benefit is that, these stores sell all products in one place at a cheaper price. Hence, customers need not visit various stores to buy daily or monthly necessities. As, people buy products in bulk, they get them for a lesser cost when compared to retail outlets in the town. To elucidate, Wall-mart offers all products from ice-creams to electronic items and their prices are often 5% fewer that the market price. To conclude, it is evident that disadvantages of malls such as pollution and economic loss for local businesses outweigh the advantages like one stop for shoppers and cheaper prices.