Infant industries protection mechanism

a) Define an infant industry. (2) Infant industries: New industries with relatively low output and high cost. These industries are called sunrise industries, which have the potential to grow. 2 b) Explain two benefits of free trade for producers. (4) Free trade, and unrestricted trade allow countries to concentrate what they are best at producing and hence allow for an efficient allocation of resources. Selling freely to a global market would raise competitive forces and give them access to more sources of raw materials and components. It would improve the quality of products they buy and also gain from a greater choice of products. It is also encouraging firms to locate some of their production in the most efficient locations. By free trade, producers transport their products at lower cost. 4 c) Analyse how the imposition of a tariff could prevent dumping. (6) First of all, dumping is unfair competition. This occurs when foreign firms sell products at a price below cost of production. A more damaging motive behind dumping is to drive domestic firms out of the market, gain a large market share and then raise prices. In the long run, it may result in a less efficient allocation of resources and the foreign firms gaining more market power, reducing choice and raising price. This is selling excess supplies in other countries, in order to keep the price high in the domestic market. A tariff can be imposed on imported products. It will discourage the purchase of imports. Placing a tariff on an imported product raises its price. It is likely to be set at a level which will mean that the imported products will sell at a higher price than domestically produced goods. So placing tariffs, would increase the price of products which are above domestic products. So it will prevent industries from dumping by increasing its price to sell in the market. 6 d) Discuss whether or not the presence of a foreign multinational company will benefit a country. (8) Multinational company is a business organisation that produces in more than one country. They can increase employment, output and tax revenue, bring in new technology and management ideas and help in development of infrastructure. By improving the output of a country, standards of living may be increased which will benefit a country. But they are more prone to pollute and willing to close down plants in foreign countries. There is a risk that they may drive domestic firms out of business. The domestic such new industries, which have potential to grow, may be eliminated by foreign competition before they have really started, leading to discourage domestic firms. So the presence of foreign multinational company will benefit a country due to the pros outweighing the cons. 8