Some film companies spend millions of dollars on the production of a single movie. Is it necessary to spend a lot of money to make a good movie? What factors contribute to the success of a movie?

Some film companies have millions of dollars of budget for a single movie. At present to make a good movie requires huge amount of money. I believe that there are many common factors that decides the fate of the movie. Firstly, in the era of superhero movies, to attract audience film industry uses all sorts of methods, for example- great visual effects, sound effects, costumes and expensive equipments to bring the characters to reality. Secondly, at present the viewers have lot of options to chose from, therefore to stay in the market and to compete company need to invest more money into the project. For example production of the movie The Iron man had a budget of more then fifty million dollars which indeed was a huge success worldwide. In all the sucessful movies, the list of common things to be seen are famous actors, great vfx and sfx, storyline and specially the amount of money spent on it's publicity. everyone wants to see their favourite actors on a big-screen, thus, signing already famous actors for a movie increases the percentage of the audience. Storyline also plays a major role to hook people into the movie, a great storyline makes audience feel connected to the characters. Doesn't matter how big the budget is if the publicity is not done properly, promotions helps movie to reach out to the public and attract them. For example all the superhero movies have all the above mentioned factors in common. To conclude, grabbing attention of the viewers and to thrive in the market, spending good amount of money is a must and by implementing some of the common factors from the blockbuster hits any movie could be made great. However, the success is not guranteed.